Volunteer Service Award


The Volunteer Service Award was established in 2009 to honor members who have made a significant contribution to the work of AALL but have not served on the AALL Executive Board or received any of the AALL awards for distinguished service listed in the section below. Each year, one recipient may be selected to receive this award; there is no requirement that the award be given each year.


Selection Criteria

  • Nominee must be a member in good standing of AALL for the last 10 years immediately preceding the nomination.
  • Nominee must not have served as a member of the AALL Executive Board.
  • Nominee must not previously have received any of the following awards:
    • Marian Gould Gallagher Distinguished Service Award
    • AALL Hall of Fame
    • ALL-SIS Frederick Charles Hicks Award for Outstanding Contributions to Academic Law Librarianship
    • ALL-SIS Outstanding Service Award
    • CS-SIS Kenneth J. Hirsh Distinguished Service Award
    • Daniel L. Wade FCIL-SIS Outstanding Service Award
    • GLL-SIS Bethany J. Ochal Award for Distinguished Service to the Profession
    • PLLIP-SIS Distinguished Librarian Award
    • PLLIP-SIS Hall of Fame Award
    • PLLIP-SIS Service to PLLIP
    • TS-SIS Renee D. Chapman Award for Outstanding Contributions in Technical Services Law Librarianship
  • Nominee must be an active participant in the Association, as evidenced by one or more significant contributions to AALL, including but not limited to the following:
    • Volunteer service at Annual Meetings (registration, library tours, etc.)
    • Volunteer service with special projects (e.g. Annual Meeting service projects)
    • Presenting educational programs at AALL Annual Meetings
    • Chairing an SIS or serving as chapter president
    • Chairing an AALL committee or jury, or an SIS committee
    • Representing AALL in an official capacity to an outside entity
    • Active service as a member of an AALL committee or jury, or an SIS committee

Application Information

The deadline for nominations is March 1, 2024. Please email the nomination form and supporting documentation as a single PDF to Ashley Laverty.

Download the Volunteer Service Award Nomination Form

Award Presentation

Recipients will receive a plaque given in the name of the Association and presented during the AALL Annual Meeting.


  • 2020 - 2023


    Michelle Trovillo
    Director of Information Resources
    Cincinnati, OH


    Joseph D. Lawson
    Harris County Robert W. Hainsworth Law Library
    Houston, TX


    None awarded


    Nicole P. Dyszlewski
    Head of Research, Instruction & Engagement
    Roger Williams University School of Law Library
    Bristol, RI

  • 2010 - 2019


    Julie Pabarja
    Research & Library Supervisor
    Latham & Watkins LLP
    Chicago, IL


    Edward T. Hart
    Assistant Dean for Law Library and Assistant Professor
    University of North Texas at Dallas College of Law
    Dallas, TX


    Lawrence R. (Larry) Meyer
    Law Library Director
    Law Library for San Bernardino County
    San Bernardino, CA


    Carol A. Watson
    Director of the Law Library
    University of Georgia School of Law
    Athens, GA


    Donna K. Bausch
    Law Librarian
    Norfolk Law Library
    Norfolk, VA

    Leonette M. Williams
    Associate Director of the Law Library for Collection and Administrative Services
    University of Southern California Gould School of Law
    Los Angeles, CA


    Karen B. Brunner
    Director of Library Services
    Riker, Danzig, Scherer, Hyland & Perretti LLP
    Morristown, NJ

    Sarah Galligan
    Ramsey County Law Library
    St. Paul, MN

    Sandra Marz
    Library Director, Retired
    Washoe County Law Library
    Reno, NV


    Michele Finerty
    Assistant Director for Technical Services,
    Pacific McGeorge School of Law
    Gordon D. Schaber Law Library
    Sacramento, CA


    Jean Willis
    Assistant Director for Support Services
    Sacramento County Public Law Library
    Sacramento, CA


    None awarded


    Kathleen Kelly
    Lockridge Grindal Nauen P.L.L.P.

    Brian D. Striman
    University of Nebraska-Lincoln, Schmid Law Library