Minority Leadership Development Award


The Minority Leadership Development Award was created in 2001 to nurture leaders for the future and to introduce minority law librarians to leadership opportunities within the Association. The award shall consist of the following benefits: travel, lodging and registration expenses for one recipient to attend the Annual Meeting of AALL; an experienced AALL leader to serve as the recipient's mentor for at least one year; and an opportunity to serve on an AALL committee during the year following the award.


Upon submission of the application, an applicant must meet all of the following criteria to be considered for the award:

  • Be a member of a minority group as defined by current U.S. government guidelines as found in 62 F.R. 58782;
  • Have a strong academic record and have earned a Master's degree in Library/Information Science;
  • Have no more than five years of professional (post-MLS or post-JD) library or information service work experience;
  • Be a current member of AALL at the time application is submitted;
  • Have been a member of AALL for at least two years or have two years of full-time, professional law library work experience; and
  • Demonstrate leadership potential.

Application Process

Download the MLDA Award Application
Tips for Drafting Personal Statements & Letters of Recommendation

Submit an application package containing:

  • Completed application form
  • A current resume or c.v.
  • Three letters of recommendation from individuals who can evaluate your law library employment experience or relevant graduate education commenting on your present and potential contributions to AALL and the field of law librarianship
  • A brief (500-1000 word) essay on how your career has been influenced by belonging to a minority group and how you hope to impact the profession and the Association as you become a leader.


The complete application package must be received by February 1, and will be eligible for review for two consecutive annual award cycles. Email complete application documents to hletzmann@aall.org.


2017: Clanitra Stewart Nejdl, Reference & Instructional Services Librarian and Assistant Professor, Northern Illinois University College of Law Library, DeKalb, IL

2016: Janeen Williams, Reference Librarian, North Carolina Central University, Durham, NC

2015: Daniella Mia Lee-Garcia, Librarian Ninth Circuit Library, United States Court of Appeals, Fresno, CA

2014: Stephanie Hayes, Assistant Director for Resources, Florida State University College of Law Research Center, Tallahassee, FL

2013: Ann Lee, Knowledge Management Content Coordinator, Debevoise & Plimpton LLP, New York, NY

2012: Eugenia J. Charles-Newton, Faculty Services Librarian, Texas Tech University School of Law, Lubbock, TX

2011: Michelle Cosby, Faculty Services Librarian, North Carolina Central University School of Law Library, Durham, NC

2010: Sean H. Crane, University of Arizona, Cracchiolo Law Library

2009: None Awarded

2008: Lauren Collins, Duke University School of Law Library

2007: Dennis C. Kim-Prieto, Reference Librarian, Rutgers School of Law-Newark, Newark, NJ

2006: Joy Shoemaker (Hanson), Duke University Law Library, Durham, NC

2005: Ronald E. Wheeler Jr., Head of Faculty and Public Services, Lecturer III, University of New Mexico Law Library, Albuquerque, NM

2004: June S. Kim, Reference Librarian, UCLA School of Law, Hugh & Hazel Darling Law Library, Los Angeles, California

2003: Christopher Bloodworth, Access Services Librarian, Arthur Neef Law Library, Wayne State University, Detroit, Michigan

2002: Tanya Brown, Head Librarian, Spiegel & Mcdiarmid, Washington, D.C.
Donna Nixon, Reference Librarian, Katherine W. Everett Law Library, University Of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, North Carolina