Marian Gould Gallagher Distinguished Service Award


The Distinguished Service Award was established in 1984 to recognize extended and sustained service to law librarianship, for the exemplary service to the Association, or for contributions to the professional literature.

The award was renamed the Marian Gould Gallagher Distinguished Service Award in 1990 in recognition of Prof. Gallagher’s contributions to AALL and advancement of the profession of law librarianship. She was a law librarian for over 50 years. She served as AALL president and chaired and served on many AALL committees. She was active with WESTPAC and state and local bar associations.  She served on the ABA Section of Legal Education and Admission to the Bar and was appointed to library related committees and commissions by three U.S. Presidents. Prof. Gallagher mentored generations of law librarians.

The Marian Gould Gallagher Distinguished Service Award is the Association’s highest honor.



The Marian Gould Gallagher Distinguished Service Award is presented to an individual who has completed or is nearing completion of an active professional career. The Award is given in recognition of a career of outstanding, extended and sustained service, and achievement in law librarianship and to AALL, its committees, special interest sections, chapters and other entities.

Honorees may be recognized for exceptional achievement in a particular area of law librarianship, for service to the Association that goes well beyond expectation, outstanding contributions to the professional literature, or for access to justice initiatives. Nominees must be or at one time have been a member of the American Association of Law Libraries. The award may be given posthumously. Current AALL Executive Board members are not eligible for this award.

Nominees must have demonstrated sustained and notable achievement in at least one area of activity cited in AALL’s Core Organizational Values:

  • Lifelong learning and intellectual growth.
  • Commitment to diversity and inclusion.
  • Equitable and permanent public access to trustworthy legal information.
  • Continuous improvement in access to justice.
  • Community and collaboration.
  • The essential role of law librarians and legal information professionals within their organizations and within their community.

Application Information

The deadline for nominations is March 1, 2024. Please email the nomination form and supporting documentation as a single PDF to Kim Rundle.

Download the Marian Gould Gallagher Distinguished Service Award Nomination Form

Nomination must contain the following:

  • A concise description of the nominee’s achievements
  • A current CV or resume
  • Any additional information or documentation that may assist the Awards committee in the evaluation of the nomination
  • Up to five letters of support

Each candidate shall be considered individually and confidentially and will be judged according to the criteria listed above.

Petitions and letter writing campaigns (beyond those letters included with the application) are discouraged and will not be considered in the evaluation process nor will they influence the Committee.


The award shall be a plaque issued by the American Association of Law Libraries.